Hutchinson Community College campus photo


Members and Directors


Partner with Martindell Swearer Shaffer Ridenour LLP. 

Grinnell College
School of Law - University of Kansas

John currently serves on the Kansas Bar Association Board of Governors and he is a member of the board of directors of Hutchinson Regional Medical Center. He has served as President of the Reno County Historical Society, Chairman of the Reno County Republican Party, Past President of the Reno County Chapter of the American Red Cross, past member and Treasurer of the Hutchinson/Reno County Chamber of Commerce, past member of the Hutchinson Community Foundation as well as serving on other civic boards and committees.



Nuefeldt’s Flooring Inc., President


JEFF ERIKSEN - Board Secretary

Collins Bus Corporation, Procurement Manager

BS – Business Administration – University of Kansas

Jeff is a Past Chairman of the Hutchinson Reno County Chamber of Commerce.  As the owner of Golf USA of Hutchinson for 12 years and The Strand hair salon for 8 years, Jeff has a broad entrepreneurial background.

Dan Friesen - Board Chair

Friesen is chief innovation officer and managing member of a local private investment company, IdeaTek Equity Group, LLC. The investment company is focused in areas of innovative and strategic markets with long term growth and annuity potential. IdeaTek's largest investment is IdeaTek Telcom which focuses on rural fiber optic broadband deployment in under served South Central Kansas communities.
AAS -  Hutchinson Community College
BA -  Wichita State University
Friesen is a second-term mayor of the City of Buhler; he serves on the board of the Buhler Community Foundation, Hutchinson Community Foundation, Trustees of Buhler MB Church, and the Hutchinson Community College Applied Sciences Advisory Team, he is a past board member of the Hutchinson/Reno County Chamber of Commerce serving on the executive committee; past President of the Buhler Chamber of Commerce; and past Chairman of the Buhler Economic Development Board; Friesen was also a recipient of the Hutchinson 20 under 40 award in 2012. He is a licensed private pilot.  Friesen and his wife, Sarah, have four children.


JULIA DOERKSEN - Board Treasurer

Vice President and Manager, Loan Operations, The First National Bank of Hutchinson

BS - Finance and Banking - McPherson College

Julia is a native of the Hutchinson area who spent 9 years in management with Bank of Kansas before moving to Colorado to accept a position with Bank of Colorado.  She served in various management positions with Bank of Colorado, most recently as Vice President and Operations Manager of the Yuma branch.  Julia recently moved back to Hutchinson to accept the position of Vice President of Loan Operations at The First National Bank of Hutchinson.


JENI BRYAN - Board Vice Chair

Jeni has been a Co-Owner/Operator of Jackson Meat for the past 9 years.  Born and raised in the Buhler/Hutchinson area, Jeni is a graduate of Buhler High School, Hutchinson Community College and Friends University and has a degree in Business Management and Organizational Leadership.

Jeni is active in the community and serves as a Board Member of the Hutchinson/Reno County Chamber of Commerce, Small Business Council, United Way of Reno County, and volunteers on the TECH holiday festival committee.  Jeni is passionate about promoting small businesses and encouraging communities to shop local.

Doug Wright

Superior Boiler Works, Inc., President and CEO

BS - Accounting - Central Methodist University

In 2008, Doug came to Hutchinson to become President and CEO of Superior Boiler Works Inc.  He also serves on the Board of Directors for Superior Boiler Works Inc.  Prior to 2008, Doug lived in Joplin, Missouri where he held various executive and management positions with manufacturing related companies.

Doug is serving on the Public Policy Advisory Committee of the Hutchinson / Reno County Chamber of Commence.  He has served on the Board of Directors of the Joplin, MO Area Chamber of Commerce as well as serving on other civic boards and committees.


Ex-Officio Members

Bob Bush  -  Reno County Commissioner

Debra Teufel - President/CEO Hutchinson/Reno County Chamber of Commerce

Dr. Carter File   -  President of Hutchinson Community College

Steve Porter  -  Vice President of Workforce Development and Outreach, Hutchinson Community College

David Dukart  -  Director, Quest Center for Entrepreneurs, Hutchinson Community College